Your Council

Cumbria operates a three tier system of local government, with education, health and social care under the remit of Cumbria County Council, planning, licensing, street cleansing, refuse collection, and recycling undertaken by district or borough councils, and community matters decided by town and parish councils.

The Workington constituency sits entirely within Cumbria County Council, and has one borough council - Allerdale Borough Council - and 45 parish and town councils.