Cumbria County Council

Cumbria County Council was formed in 1974, when the administrative counties of Cumberland and Westmorland and the county borough of Carlisle were abolished and the areas they covered were combined with parts of Lancashire and the West Riding of Yorkshire to form a new non-metropolitan county.

Cumbria County Council is responsible for the more strategic local services of the county, including education, libraries and youth services, social services, highway maintenance, waste disposal, emergency planning, consumer protection, planning for minerals matters, waste and for highways. It is based primarily in Carlisle and Kendal, and it’s population was 499,858 at the 2011 census.

Elections to the county council are held every four years with 84 councillors being elected from 84 divisions. 16 of those divisions are wholly or partly in the Workington constituency. An electoral division boundary map can be downloaded here . You can find your Workington Conservatives county councillors here.

Politically, the council is currently controlled by Labour in a minority administration supported by the Liberal Democrats.

Electoral Divisions

Aspatria Maryport South
Bothel and Wharrels Moorclose & Moss Bay
Cockermouth North Seaton
Cockermouth South Solway Coast
Dearham and Broughton St John's and Great Clifton
Harrington St Michael's
Keswick Thursby
Maryport North Wigton



Attachment Size
Cumbria County Council Electoral Division Boundary Map 4.37 MB


Councillor Tony Markley

Cumbria County Council - Solway Coast Division
Allerdale Borough Council - Silloth& Solway Coast Ward

Councillor Hugo Graham

Cumbria County Council - Dearham and Broughton Division
Workington Association - Cumbria County Council Conservative Group Delegate



Councillor Mike Johnson

Cumbria County Council - Thursby Division
Allerdale Borough Council - Allhallows and Waverton Ward
Allerdale Borough Council - Executive Member for Property and Finance
Workington Association - Allerdale Borough Council Conservative Group Delegate