Allerdale Borough Council

Allerdale is a non-metropolitan district of Cumbria, with borough status. Its council is based in Workington and the borough has a population of 96,422 at the 2011 Census.

The Borough of Allerdale was formed under the Local Government Act 1972, on 1 April 1974 by the merger of the municipal borough of Workington, the urban districts of Maryport, Cockermouth and Keswick; and the rural districts of Cockermouth and Wigton, all of which were within the administrative county of Cumberland. In 1995 Allerdale was granted borough status.

The name derives from the ancient region of Allerdale, represented latterly by the two wards of Cumberland, called Allerdale above Derwent and Allerdale below Derwent the present borough corresponding largely to the latter with parts of the former. Much of the area during the medieval period was a Royal Forest subject to forest law.

Elections to the borough council are held every four years with 49 councillors being elected from 23 wards. A ward boundary map can be downloaded here.

Politically, the council is currently controlled by Independents and the Conservatives under a power-sharing arrangement.


All Saints Marsh & Wampool
Allhallows & Waverton Maryport North
Aspatria Maryport South
Boltons Moorclose & Moss Bay
Broughton St Bridgets Seaton & Northside
Christchurch Silloth & Solway Coast
Crummock & Derwent Valley St Johns
Dalton St Michaels
Ellen & Gilcrux Stainburn & Clifton
Flimby Warnell
Harrington & Salterbeck Wigton & Woodside


Attachment Size
Allerdale Borough Council Ward Boundary Map 6.7 MB


Councillor Tony Markley

Cumbria County Council - Solway Coast Division
Allerdale Borough Council - Silloth& Solway Coast Ward

Councillor Alan Pitcher

Allerdale Borough Council - Wigton & Woodside Ward
Penrith & The Border Association - Allerdale Borough Council Conservative Group Delegate

Councillor John Cook

Allerdale Borough Council - Silloth & Solway Coast Ward
Allerdale Borough Council - Executive Member: Governance and Regulatory Services
Workington Conservative Association - Deputy Chairman (Political)

Councillor Mike Johnson

Cumbria County Council - Thursby Division
Allerdale Borough Council - Allhallows and Waverton Ward
Allerdale Borough Council - Executive Member for Property and Finance
Workington Association - Allerdale Borough Council Conservative Group Delegate

Councillor Owen Martin

Allerdale Borough Council - Silloth & Solway Coast
Workington Association - Deputy Chairman (Membership)

Councillor Carmel Bell

Allerdale Borough Council - Crummock & Derwent Valley Ward
Workington Conservative Association - Deputy Membership Officer